Facts in Myanmar

Official Name of the Country :
The Republic of the Union of Myanmar
Capital City :
Nay Pyi Taw (Established since 2005)
Government :
Democratically Elected Government
Head of State :
U Thein Sein
President of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.
Languages :
Myanmar is the official language.
English is widely used all over the country.
Majority are Buddhist and there are
Christianity, Islam, Hinduism and others.
Population :
Area :
Coastline :
2,832 km
Geography :
Generally divided into 3 parts: Eastern Hill Region, Central Valley Region and Western Hill Region Ayeyawady River, Sittaung River, Than Lwin River and Chindwin River
Climate :
Tropical weather with Three Seasons:
Summer (March to May)
Raining Season (June to October)
Cold Season (November to February)
Currency :
Myanmar Kyat (MMK)
Time :
GMT + 6:30 Hours
1:30 Hours behind China, Singapore, Hong Kong
Neighboring Countries :
China , Laos, Thailand, India , Bangladesh.
Fiscal Year :
1 April to 31 March
National Holidays :
4 January
- Independence Day
12 January
- Union Day
2 March
- Peasants' Day
- (Full Moon Day of Tabaung)
27 March
- Armed Forces day
April (10) Days
- Thingyan Water Festival Days
  & New Year Long Holidays
1 May
- May Day
- Full Moon of Kason
  ( Buddha's Birthday )
- Full Moon of Waso
  (Beginning of Buddhist Lent)
19 July
- Martyr's Day
- Full Moon of Thadingyut
  ( End of Buddhist Lent )
- Full Moon of Tazaungdaing
  (Tazaungdaing Festival)
- National Day (10th day of
  Waning Tazaungmone)
25 December
- Christmas Day

• Depavali ( Hindi Religious Holiday ) will be declared before that day.

• Karen New Year Day will depend on the lunar calendar.